Resource Guide for Family Caregivers
Common types of assessments

There are several different types of assessments that typically come into play in making decisions about the types of care that a person may require. Each assessment has a different area of focus. Some will focus on the person’s physical/medical condition; some will focus on the person’s ability to get around and perform day to day tasks involved in living on their own; and some will focus on a person’s mental/ psychiatric or emotional status. Four of the most common assessments that caregivers and elderly care receivers will encounter are:

  • Long Term Care assessments
  • Geriatric assessments
  • Psycho-geriatric assessments
  • Activity of Daily Living assessments

These are discussed in turn below. In addition to the above, clinical assessments are performed in order to help determine the cause of various symptoms or problems that a person may be experiencing.

Typically, assessments are performed in order to determine:

  • a person’s strengths/capabilities, and the areas in a person’s life in which she or he may be having difficulties;
  • a person’s needs for care (i.e., the nature, extent and duration of care or support required);
  • A person’s eligibility for particular programs or services;
  • a person’s eligibility for subsidized supports/services.